Dallas Symphony and AT&T Performing Arts Center present

SOLUNA: Rules of the Game

Daniel Arsham x Jonah Bokaer with an original score by Pharrell Williams

7:30PM Tuesday, May 17, 2016

  • Reserve Your Seat At The Supper Club Performances

Winspear Opera House

2403 Flora Street, Dallas, TX 75201


SOLUNA Opening Event
RULES OF THE GAME (2016 World Premiere)
Daniel Arsham x Jonah Bokaer
Original score by Pharrell Williams
Arranged by David Campbell

This is a brand-new medium where movement is not only an addition, it’s essential to communicating the point.

Pharell Williams

Pharell Williams, Daniel Arsham, and Jonah Bokaer recently spoke to Rolling Stone about this very special collaboration. Read the entire article here.

Rules of the Game

Daniel and I share a goal of doing things for the stage that have never been done

Jonah Bokaer

The Wall Street Journal offers a peek into the creative process behind the show. Read more here.

About the Show

A one-night-only event, “Rules Of The Game” is a multidisciplinary work for eight dancers and represents the largest collaboration between Jonah Bokaer (choreography) and Daniel Arsham (scenography) and their first partnership with Pharrell Williams (score), collectively. The music composed by pop star and multi-GRAMMY® Award-winner Williams represents his first composition for live dance and theater. The Dallas Symphony Orchestra will perform live at the premiere, following a three-part creation residency in Dallas for the artists – which has included the casting of one local dancer.


RECESS (2010)
Jonah Bokaer: Choreography | Direction

Performers: Jonah Bokaer, James McGinn

Stavros Gasparatos: Music
Daniel Arsham: Scenography
Aaron Copp: Lighting Design
Richard Chai: Costume Design

Why Patterns (2011)
Jonah Bokaer: Choreography | Direction

Performers: Laura Gutierrez, James McGinn, Szabi Pataki, Sara Procopio

“Why Patterns” by Morton Feldman (1978) | “Catch Wave” by Arp / Alexis Georgopoulos (2011)
Snarkitecture Scenography By Daniel Arsham & Alex Mustonen
Aaron Copp: Lighting Design
Richard Chai: Costume Design


Rules Of The Game (2016 World Premiere)
Jonah Bokaer: Choreography | Direction
Daniel Arsham: Scenography
Pharrell Williams: Original Score
David Campbell: Arrangement | Conductor
Musicians Of The Dallas Symphony Orchestra

Dancers: Albert Drake | Laura Gutierrez | James Koroni | Callie Lyons | James McGinn | Szabi Pataki | Sara Procopio | Betti Rollo

Aaron Copp: Lighting Design
Nick Houfek: Lighting Supervision
Chris Stamp / Stampd: Costume Design

View all Productions