SMU Meadows School of the Arts presents

Meadows at the Winspear 2016

8:00PM Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Winspear Opera House

2403 Flora Street, Dallas, TX 75201


The 23rd annual gala benefit concert for SMU Meadows will showcase the critically acclaimed Meadows Symphony Orchestra, led by conductor Paul Phillips, and the Meadows Dance Ensemble in two major works. The first is the world premiere of a newly envisioned choreography of Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite (1945), created by Claudia Lavista and Victor Manuel Ruiz, noted artistic directors of the acclaimed Delfos Danza Contemporanea in Mazatlán, Mexico. The second is Martha Graham’s ballet masterpiece_ Appalachian Spring_ (1944), set to music of the same name by Aaron Copland. This performance will be the world premiere of new orchestration, completed under the direction of the Copland Fund for Music, that extends his shorter, Pulitzer Prize-winning 1945 Appalachian Spring Suite for full orchestra to include all the music he wrote for the original 1944 ballet. Proceeds from the event provide scholarships for the Meadows Scholars Program, aimed at recruiting the brightest and most talented students to SMU and Dallas.

View all Productions