AT&T PAC Board Changes:

Posted on

The AT&T Performing Arts Center has a new Chair of its Board of Directors. At its annual meeting earlier this month, the Board elected attorney Danny Tobey for a two-year term. He has served on the Center’s board since 2016.

“I am excited to be serving with directors who are creative and passionate about the Center and its role in both our cultural community and the city,” said Tobey. “This is a challenging time for the arts, and I’m eager to work with the staff and this Board to keep the Center and the arts in Dallas moving forward.”

The Board also named Past-Chair Matrice Ellis-Kirk as a Life Director, one of just five people with that distinction. Four new members joined the Board, Annika Cail, Morgan W. Cox III, Dr. Jeffrey Whitman, and Noa Dowl. And four former members were welcomed back, Lisa Arpey, Tom Leppert, Sarah Losinger and Guillermo Perales.

Danny Tobey, J.D., M.D. is Partner in the Dallas office of the global law practice DLA Piper, located in 1900 Pearl just behind Strauss Square. He is also a medical doctor and software entrepreneur who represents healthcare, private equity and finance clients on regulatory and litigation matters. Tobey is a graduate of Harvard College, Yale Law School, and UT Southwestern Medical School. He has served on the board of several nonprofit organizations including the Parkland Foundation, SPCA of Texas and the regional Anti-Defamation League.

Tobey succeeds business and civic leader Matrice Ellis-Kirk who served as Chair since 2015. A member of the board since the Center’s inception in 2000, Ellis-Kirk was recently named as Life Director. Under her leadership, the Center completed the fundraising campaign to retire its construction debt, established the Moody Fund for the Arts to support small Dallas arts groups, and formed a ground-breaking partnership with Dallas Summer Musicals.

“I am very proud of how hard the Center’s team and board leadership work to serve our diverse and growing community,” said Ellis-Kirk. “I’ve had the pleasure to have worked with a talented and committed staff, and a committed board to ensure the Center’s success. And I am excited to support Danny as the Center entertains, educates and inspires for its second decade.”

Ellis-Kirk will continue serving on the Center’s board and its Executive Committee as Past Chair. She joins the Center’s other four Life Directors: Bess Enloe, Howard Hallam, Caren Prothro and Deedie Rose.

ELECTED DIRECTORS (3-year terms)

Lisa Arpey’s achievements encompass business as well as community service, reflecting her passion for family and volunteerism while drawing on her background in marketing, finance, and information systems.

Annika Cail is Managing Director of Convince Capital a boutique Capital Markets Advisory and Strategy firm that assists clients in the lower middle market and select start-ups. Cail leads the platform company Deal Value that automates the diligences process more transparent and efficient to increase successful deal outcomes.

Morgan W. Cox III is a Partner with Marquis Group, based in Plano. Cox leads the company’s affordable housing division and is responsible for acquisitions as well as asset management.

Noa Dowl is Vice President of JBJ Management, a strategic consulting and planning firm. His role identifies, develops, and evaluates marketing strategies while establishing and maintaining effective working relationships with clients, government officials, and media representatives. Dowl is chair of the Center’s Auxiliary Board.

Tom Leppert is a businessman and politician who is the former Chief Executive Officer of Kaplan, Inc., a subsidiary of Graham Holdings Company and one of the world’s largest education providers. Leppert served as the 59th mayor of Dallas from 2007 to 2011.

Sara Losinger has a Bachelor of Science in Special Education from the University of Oklahoma and is an active civic leader and serves on many non-profit boards.

Guillermo Perales owns Sun Holdings and is the third-largest franchise owner in the United States and top Hispanic franchisee in the country. Sun Holding’s stores include Burger King, Popeyes, Arby’s, Krispy Kreme, Cici’s, Golden Corral, GNC, and T-Mobile.

Jeffery Whitman, M.D. is the President and Chief Surgeon of the Key-Whitman Eye Center. Whitman is board certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology. He is also one of a few physicians in North Texas to be board certified in both cataract surgery and LASIK by the American Board of Eye Surgeons.