Board Elects New Chair, Directors And Life Director, Announces New Auxiliary Board

Posted by on

Danny Tobey Succeeds Matrice Ellis-Kirk, Who Was Named Life Director after 20 Years of Board Service

The nonprofit AT&T Performing Arts Center today announced that Danny Tobey has been elected chair of the Board of Directors and is succeeding Matrice Ellis-Kirk, who was named Life Director after 20 years of service. The Board also elected directors for the upcoming fiscal year, and confirmed the newly created Auxiliary Board, comprising the next generation of leaders at the Center.

Matrice Ellis-Kirk was a founding member of the Board in 2000 and became chair in 2015. Her five-year tenure as chair saw a debt retirement plan, completed capital campaign, collaboration with Dallas Summer Musicals, and successful 10th Anniversary Celebration gala; creation of the Center’s Annual Young Women’s Leadership Conference, Moody Fund for the Arts, and ArtsBridge – Powered by Toyota; and increased diversity in both the Board composition and the Center’s programming. Matrice is the fifth Life Director, joining Bess Enloe, Howard Hallam, Caren Prothro and Deedie Rose.

Daniel L. Tobey, J.D., M.D. is the fifth chair in the Center’s history, after spending a year as chair-elect. Tobey is a Partner at DLA Piper and received the 2019 Burton Award from the Library of Congress recognizing “the best of the best writers in the legal profession” among the nation’s top 1,000 largest law firms. Danny has served on the executive committees of the Yale Law School Association, the Perot Museum of Nature and Science, and the Parkland Foundation, as well as on the boards of the SPCA of Texas and the regional Anti-Defamation League. He sits on the governing council of the Dallas Bar Association’s Business Litigation Section.

Three new directors have been added to the Board:

  • Annika Cail, Managing Director, Deal Value
  • Morgan W. Cox III, Partner, Marquis Group and Board Chair of Human Rights Campaign
  • Jeffrey Whitman, M.D., President and Chief Surgeon, Key-Whitman Eye Center

Former Board members returning are: Lisa Arpey, Tom Leppert, Sarah Losinger and Guillermo Perales. And ten Directors were reelected to a second term: Theresa Badylak, Gil Besing, Mitzi Chollampel, Linda Pitts Custard, Rebecca Enloe Fletcher, Sophia Johnson, John Levy, Brendan McGuire, Yvette Ostolaza and Christopher Reynolds.

The newly created Auxiliary Board engages a dynamic group of professionals in the work of the Center by complimenting the Board of Directors and supporting the Center’s mission statement. Noa Francis Dowl has been elected chair of the Auxiliary Board and will serve as Ex-Officio Director on the Board as the Auxiliary Board’s representative. The Auxiliary Board’s Executive Committee is comprised of Amanda Austin, Jon Cox, Frank George III, and Lauren Thedford. Inaugural and founding members of the Auxiliary Board include: Brooke Bailey, Lindsey Billingsley, Nick Brooks, Erreka Campbell, Nina Angelilli Conoley, Grace Cook, Bela Pjetrovic Cooley, Brooke Dowdy, Erin Duvall, Preston Evans, Bobby Gibbs, Shelby Goff, Jane Rozelle Humphrey, Stephanie Seay, Amanda Shufeldt, and Alysa Teichman.

blog comments powered by Disqus